High North Center

The High North Center for Business and Governance is an international center for research, education and communication, connected to societal and business development in the Arctic.

 

 

They do it for free, but Evgenii got an awardAssociate Professor at the High North Center got an Oustanding Reviewer Award for his peer reviews. https://www.nord.no/en/about/faculties-and-centres/business-school/research-centres/highnorthcenter/nyheter/Pages/they-do-peer-reviewing-for-free-but-evgenii-got-an-award.aspxThey do it for free, but Evgenii got an award
Applying smart frameworks to Arctic citiesFrom public discourse to media narrations, the Arctic is most often constructed as an uninhabited, aesthetically spectacular land of ice and snow.https://www.nord.no/en/about/faculties-and-centres/business-school/research-centres/highnorthcenter/nyheter/Pages/applying-smart-frameworks-to-arctic-cities.aspxApplying smart frameworks to Arctic cities
All the best for 2022 from us at HNCWatch our video and receive Holiday Greetings in the many languages being used in our organisation. https://www.nord.no/en/about/faculties-and-centres/business-school/research-centres/highnorthcenter/nyheter/Pages/all-the-best-for-2022-from-us-at-the-high-north-center-for-business-and-governance.aspxAll the best for 2022 from us at HNC

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​About the High North Center

The High North Center for Business and Governance​ is an international center for research, education and communication, connected to societal and business development in the Arctic. 

Established in 2007, the High North Center works closely together with companies, government bodies and other stakeholders to develop knowledge, competence and awareness about the potential for innovation and sustainable value creation in the Arctic.​

In 2021, the Norwegian Parliament defined that the High North Center will be an internationally leading ​professional environment for the development of and distribution of knowledge about the High North and the business opportunities in the region. The High North Center has a wide cooperation with businesses and institutions in the public sector. 

The High North Center receives basic funding ​via the state budget, in addition to financing via a variety of large projects.

Projects

          
See all projects here

Employees​

Name
​Title
​Email

Anastasia Ryabushkina
​Trainee
​anastasia.ryabushkina@nord.no​

​Anders Christoffer Edstrøm
​Doctoral Research Fellow
anders.c.edstrom@nord.no
Publications
​Andreas Raspotnik
Researcher
andreas.raspotnik@nord.no
Publications
​Andreas Østhagen
Researcher
aosthagen@fni.no
Publications​
​Andrey Kazakov
​Advisor
andrey.kazakov@nord.no
Publications
​Andrey​​ Mineev
​Researcher
andrey.mineev@nord.no
Publications
​Arne O. Holm
​Editor in Chief, High North News
arne.o.holm@nord.no
Publications
Astri Edvardsen
​Journalist, High North News
astri.edvardsen@nord.no
Publications
Benedikte Kosmo Underland
​Advisor
benedikte.k.underland@nord.no
Bård Borch Brøndlund Michalsen
​Senior lecturer II
bard.b.michalsen@uit.no
Publications
Elana Wilson Rowe
​Professor II
ew@nupi.no​​
Publications
​Elena Dybtsyna
​Associate Professor​
elena.dybtsyna@nord.no
Publications
Elena Zhurova Sæther
​Advisor
elena.z.saether@nord.no​
Publications
Elisabeth Bergquist
​Translator
elisabeth.bergquist@nord.no​
​Evgenii Aleksandrov
​Postdoc
evgenii.aleksandrov@nord.no
Publications
​Frode Mellemvik
​Director
frode.mellemvik@nord.no
Publications
​Geir Hønneland
​Professor II
geir.honneland@fni.no
Publications
​Hilde-Gunn Bye
​Journalist, High North News
hilde-gunn.bye@nord.no
Publications
​Hogne Bø Pettersen
​Communication Advisor
hogne@nord.no

Husanboy Ahunov
​Doctoral Research Fellow
husanboy.ahunov@nord.no
Publications
​Maja Wolland Blomberg
​Advisor
maja.w.blomberg@nord.no​
​Petter Nore
​Professor  
petternore@gmail.com

Roman Vakulchuk
​Senior Researcher
rva@nupi.no
​Trine Jonas​sen
​News editor, High North News
trine.jonassen@nord.no ​ 
​Publications​

People associated with the High North Center


Name
​Title
​Email

​Anatoli Bourmistrov
​Professor
anatoli.bourmistrov@nord.no
Publications
Bjørn Olsen
​Professor
​bjorn.olsen@nord.no​
Publications
​Erlend Bullvåg
​Associate Professor
erlend.bullvag@nord.no​
Publications
​Frode Nilssen
​Professor
frode.nilssen@nord.no​
Publications
Giuseppe Grossi
​Professor
giuseppe.grossi@nord.no​
Publications
Hege Christin Stenhammer
Senior Advisor
hege.c.stenhammer@nord.no
Publications
Ida Kristin Schjesvold
Advisor
ida.k.schjesvold@nord.no​

Igor Aleksandrovich Khodachek
Associate Professor
igor.khodachek@nord.no

Johannes Schmied
​Senior Advisor
johannes.schmied@nord.no​
Publications
Julia Olsen
​Researcher II
​julia.olsen@nforsk.no​
Publications
​June Borge Doornich
​Vice Dean
june.borge.doornich@nord.no
​Publications
Nadezda Nazarova
​Associate Professor
nadezda.nazarova@nord.no
Publications
Natalia Andreassen
Associate Professor
natalia.andreassen@nord.no
Publications
Odd Jarl Borch
​Professor
odd.j.borch@nord.no
Publications
Olga Iermolenko
Associate ​Professor
olga.iermolenko@nord.no
​Publications
Veronika Vakulenko
Associate Professor
veronika.vakulenko@nord.no​
​Publications

Conferences​

The High North Dialogue conference is an annual conference that brings together major stakeholders concerned with Arctic development. The purpose of the event is to encourage and facilitate dialogue between stakeholders to promote sustainable development in the Arctic, as well as information sharing and discussion of best practices.
We are currently planning the conference for 2022, which will take place in Stormen library in Bodø on April 6 and 7. Stay tuned for announcements and the program!

Since 2007, the High North Dialogue conference series have brought together Arctic leaders – present and future – to discuss the opportunities for value creation in the High North in an international context. Set in Bodø – the second largest community in Northern Norway
and European capital of culture 2024 – the High North Dialogue conference will provide you with a different perspective on the future of the Arctic.

More information:

http://www.highnorthdialogue.no/

Contact:
Communication Advisor Hogne Bø Pettersen
E-mail: hogne@nord.no
Tel: +47 911 93 144​​


Press


For quesqions regarding press coverage about the High North Center and our activities, please contact: 
         
Hogne Bø Pettersen
Communication Advisor
Tel: +47 911 93 144
E-mail:
hogne@nord.no
Arne O. Holm
Editor in Chief, High North News
Tel: +47 75 51 71 84
E-mail: Arne.O.Holm@nord.no
 
Frode Mellemvik
Director
E-mail: Frode.Mellemvik@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 77 05
Press photo 

Follow us in social media