High North Center

The High North Center, located at Nord University, is a national center for research, education and policy development. The center recognizes and develops innovation, business creation and politics in the High North area.



Ukraina og Russland møtes i BodøNesten 50 studenter fra Ukraina og Russland møtes i Bodø for å utdanne seg til fremtidens ledere.https://www.nord.no/no/om-oss/fakulteter-og-avdelinger/handelshogskolen/senter/nordomradesenteret/Sider/Ukraina-og-Russland-motes-i-Bodo.aspxUkraina og Russland møtes i Bodø
Fra øst til arktis for å studereNordområdesenteret ved Handelshøgskolen, Nord Universitet åpner vårsemesteret med seminaret «Public sector in change – global challenges and local opportunities».https://www.nord.no/no/om-oss/fakulteter-og-avdelinger/handelshogskolen/senter/nordomradesenteret/Sider/Januarseminaret.aspxFra øst til arktis for å studere
More Ukrainian students to BodøIn December the University of Nordland agreed to cooperate with 10 ukrainian universities (photo). Through granting from the EU Project Erasmus+ Global Mobility Ukrainian students will come to Bodø Graduate School of Business during the Spring 2016.https://www.nord.no/no/om-oss/fakulteter-og-avdelinger/handelshogskolen/senter/nordomradesenteret/Sider/Ukraina.aspxMore Ukrainian students to Bodø

About the high north center

The High North Center, established in 2007, focuses on assisting companies, organizations and public institutions to increase both awareness and commitment in the High North. Increased recognition of the Arctic potential leads to higher demands for local knowledge and experience.



GlobalTradeRus “Global Trends in Russian Trade and Industry Policies: Implications for Norwegian – Russian Relations in the High North"


The main objective for this research project is to build and strengthen the strategic competence on a field that is right now of critical importance for the trade relationship between Norway and Russia. The project will address current trends in Russian trade and industry policies, and analyse how these may affect Norwegian-Russian relations. There will be special emphasis on trade relations and how the Russian WTO membership, CIS and the Eurasian Customs Union might develop and influence the terms of trade policies. The implications for both the Norwegian industry and the Russian industrial actors at all levels will be monitored and analysed.

Financed by: Research Council of Norway (RCN) and Russian Foundation for Humanities (RFH)
Project duration: March 2015 – March 2018
Participants: MGIMO
Other partners: Fridtjof Nansens Institute


Business Index North

The project Business Index North (BIN) will accumulate and process information regarding the conditions for Business in the High North. The index will provide both statistical and narrative data for both private companies and governmental

bureaus – the ambition is to be a prominent tool in decision making concerning business in the Arctic region. The project focuses on knowledge in the Arctic region.

Financed by: The Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

High North Business Knowledge

High North Business Knowledge (NORTHBIK) is a project that will try to expand the possibilities for student participation for the yearly High North Dialogue conference. Director at the High North Center, Frode Mellemvik, emphasizes the

importance for the concept of dialogue. This project will enable students to meet and share knowledge important for the future development of the High North areas.

Financed by: The Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

See all closed projects here


High North Dialogue
Worldwide interest in the Arctic is increasing. Changing ice-conditions, regional growth and international geopolitics have placed the High North at the center of attention. High North Dialogue 2016 will address
The Blue Future of the Arctic.

Read more at:


We are continuously publishing new research papers. Our associates have taken part in over 300 scientific publications concerning education, business and policy development in the High North region.

For a complete publication list, please visit Current Research Information SysTem in Norway (Cristin) here


For the press

The High North Center, located at Nord University, is a national center for research, education and policy development. The center recognizes and develops innovation, business creation and politics in the High North area. For additional information, or questions, please contact either:
Line Kristin Haug
E-mail: Line.k.haug@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 76 29
Arne O. Holm
Chief editor High North News
Telephone: +47 75 51 71 84
E-mail: Arne.O.Holm@nord.no


Contact us

​Frode Mellemvik
E-mail: Alfred.F.Mellemvik@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 77 05
June Borge Doornich
E-mail: June.Borge.Doornich@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 70 19
​Elena Zhurova
E-mail: Elena.Zhurova@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 24
​Elena Dybtsyna
Associate Professor
E-mail: Elena.Dybtsyna@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 89
Natalia Andreassen
E-mail: Natalia.Andreassen@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 38
​Anatoli Bourmistrov
E-mail: Anatoli.Bourmistrov@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 76 73

Arne O. Holm
Senior Advisor
E-mail: Arne.O.Holm@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 84
Andrey Kazakov
E-mail: Andrey.Kazakov@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 76
​Igor Khodachek
Research Fellow
E-mail: Igor.Khodachek@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 79 24
​Andrei Mineev
E-mail: Andrei.Mineev@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 78 53
Nadezda Nazarova
E-mail: Nadezda.Nazarova@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 34
​Frode Nilssen
E-mail: Frode.Nilssen@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 77 01
Andreas Østhagen
E-mail: Andreas.Osthagen@thearcticinstitute.org
Tel: + 47 75 51 71 14
Morten Mossin
Project Assistant
E-mail: Morten.a.mossin@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 14
Hege Eilertsen
E-mail: Hege.Eilertsen@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 78 83
​Linda Storholm
E-mail: Linda.h.storholm@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 71 77
Line Kristin Haug
E-mail: Line.k.haug@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 76 29

Trine Jonassen
Communications Advisor
E-mail: trine.jonassen@nord.no  
Tel: +47 75 51 77 97

​​Evgenii Aleksandrov
E-mail: evgenii.aleksandrov@nord.no
Tel: +47 41 17 64 69
Ensieh Kheiri Pileh Roud
E-mail: ensieh.k.roud@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 76 15
​Odd Jarl Borch
E-mail: odd.j.borch@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 76 16
​Olga Iermolenko
E-mail: olga.iermolenko@nord.no
Tel: +47 75 51 79 57
​Petter Nore
Professor II
Torstein Vik Århus
Tel: +47 75 51 75 75

Follow us on social media